Cities close bars and restaurants

The cities of Webster, Waubay, Bristol and Andover each passed a resolution and the first reading ordinance in response to the president’s declaration of a national emergency and South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem’s executive order 2020-8 state of emergency in response to the spread of COVID-19.

The resolutions and ordinances which were passed March 24 in Webster and Waubay closed all on-site dine-in restaurants, coffee houses, bars, cafes and other similar places offering food and beverage. Businesses can continue to provide take out, delivery, drive through and curb side service.

All recreational facilities, public pools, athletic facilities and theaters were directed to cease operations. This includes arcades, bingo halls, bowling alleys and similar facilities and businesses.

All other businesses in both communities shall implement social distancing in compliance with the direction of federal and state health department guidance.

The ordinance does not demand closures of businesses that offer food and beverage for off sale, including grocery stores, markets, retail stores that offer food, convenience stores, pharmacies and food pantries.

Prohibitions do not apply to health care facilities, residential care facilities and correctional facilities.

The complete wording of the resolution and ordinance is online at ­, under the COVID-19 banner along with other changes and closures as the newspaper receives them.

Webster and Waubay councils will meet March 30 to pass the second reading of the ordinance and will publish them with their respective legal publications. (See Webster’s elsewhere in this issue.) Both communities un­animously approved the ordinances and resolutions.

Governor Noem left the decisions up to each community, and the local boards, for the safety and public health of their constituents, passed them. Webster and Waubay passed them for the immediate preservation of public peace, health, safety and welfare of their respective cities.

The ordinances will remain in effect until such time as amended or repealed.

Webster curfew

The City of Webster council also discussed the curfew law. The curfew for minors in Webster is Sunday through Thursday from 11 p.m.-5 a.m. and Friday and Saturday from Midnight to 5 a.m.

The police have had some youth being out past curfew.

City attorney Tom Sannes, who was present for the passing of the resolution and ordinance, said the police have other tools in their toolbox besides issuing a curfew ticket. Other consequences include disorderly conduct charges and stop and frisk of the youth after curfew.

Council members who are on the police committee will meet with them and pass the discussion on to them.

The Webster council also received a letter from the code enforcement officer asking about some spring calls. The council will discuss his letter at a regular meeting later.